Movie Night Snacks!

The Bachelor and the Bachelorette are two of my favorite reality TV shows, so in honor of the premiere of this season’s “the Bachelorette” I made some movie night or TV night snacks! I thought I would make something sweet, something savory, and a fun drink, so I made some chocolate caramel popcorn, chili honey baked almonds, and cherry Twizzler lemonade!

I made the baked almonds first using these ingredients:

  • 1 cup almonds
  • 3 tablespoons salt
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon ground pepper
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup olive oil

IMG_1086

First I combined all of the spices (the salt, pepper, and chili powder) in a mini bowl.

IMG_1087

Then, in a separate bowl, I combined the honey and olive oil together.

IMG_1089

I then placed the almonds on an aluminum-foil lined pan (which made clean up a lot easier!).

IMG_1092

Next, I drizzled on the honey mixture and the spice mixture to follow. I then used to spoons to spread both on all of the almonds before placing them in a 250 degree oven for about 15 minutes.

IMG_1097

Right when they came out of the oven, I used any leftover spice mix and sprinkled it on top of the almonds to add some extra flavor!

IMG_1094

The popcorn was pretty straightforward to make; all I had to do was pop a bag of popcorn and pour some melted chocolate and caramel over top it.

IMG_1095

Remember when melting your chocolate to warm it in 30 second increments and mix in between to prevent burning on the bottom of the bowl.

IMG_1096

How to make my caramel sauce: https://simmiskitchenblog.wordpress.com/2017/05/18/nature-cake-decorations/

IMG_1101

Once both my chocolate was melted and my caramel was made, I poured them both on my popcorn and then used two large spoons to mix it all together!

Since both the popcorn and almonds were pretty rich or salty, I decided to pair them with a light & refreshing drink: lemonade!

IMG_1098

I began by making a simple syrup, which was just boiling together equal parts sugar and water (I used a 1/2 cup each)! You need to make a simple syrup instead of just adding sugar into your lemonade so the sugar dissolves and spreads evenly throughout the drink!

IMG_1099

Next you will need to squeeze the juice from two large lemons. Remember to microwave your lemons for about 5-10 seconds before squeezing to get the juices flowing!

IMG_1102

Finally, fill your pitcher 2/3 full of water and ice and then add in the lemon juice and simple syrup (cooled).

IMG_1104

Use a tall spoon to mix it all together!

IMG_1107

To make the lemonade more festive, I decided to use some of the peel off cherry Twizzlers that I had at home! I (attempted) to wrap strips of the Twizzlers on some red straws but unfortunately most of them fell in and didn’t stick to the straw 😦

IMG_1110

In this picture, the Twizzler straw managed to stay up, but even when it fell down, it infused the lemonade with a delicious cherry taste!

IMG_1112

Altogether, the snacks and lemonade made watching the Bachelorette more fun and I will definitely make these again for my friends sometimes!

Leave a Reply

