Sunny Side Up Egg Breakfast!

Almost every morning for breakfast, I eat sunny side up eggs because they are my favorite not only to eat, but to make! I usually have it with a glass of milk to get some extra protein in, but today I decided to change it up and serve the eggs with some avocado toast and a banana smoothie!

In order to make the perfect sunny side up eggs, you need to fully cook the white egg and leave a runny yolk (which is fabulous to dip with buttered toast). Now that may seem daunting at first, but after years of practice, I can teach my ways of creating the perfect sunny side egg :).

IMG_0374

Begin by drizzling about 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil on a small pan and heating it up to medium-low heat (it is very important that you do NOT exceed this temperature on your stove).

IMG_0375

After the oil has heated up for about a minute, crack the eggs straight onto the pan. My pan was only large enough to fit two eggs on it (comfortably), but if your pan is larger, you can definitely cook more eggs on it at a time.

IMG_0377

Now, cover the pan with a lid, careful not to touch the yolk with any part of it. The lid allows the steam that the pan releases from cooking the bottom of the egg to now also cook the top of the egg. This allows for a more even cook on the egg and for the surrounding white part of the egg to cook while yolk remains liquid and “runny”. Cook the eggs under the lid for about 2-3 minutes, checking its progress every minute.

IMG_0378

Remember to keep your pan on medium low heat so that the bottoms of the egg don’t brown too much, get fried, or get burned! This also keeps the yolks from solidifying!

IMG_0386

Once the egg has been cooked, carefully remove it from the pan and place it on your plate!

IMG_0382

To make the avocado toast, I used a fork to scoop out the inside of 1/2 avocado (I made this for just 1 toast, so scoop whatever amount out accordingly).

IMG_0384

I used that same fork to then mash the avocado and then mix in about 2 tablespoons of lemon juice. I then added some salt and pepper to taste.

IMG_0391

Finally, I spread the mixture across a piece of wheat toast and added some red pepper flakes for some spice!

IMG_0396

To make the banana smoothie, I simply blended together 1 banana, 1/4 cup almond butter, 1/2 cup coconut milk, 1/4 cup ice, and 2 tablespoons of honey!

IMG_0402

I toasted an additional piece of bread (Italian bread this time) and buttered it to dip in the yolks of my eggs to complete my meal.

Ahh, now the best part. The yolk oozing out.

Leave a Reply

