homemade Chipotle burrito bowls!

My brother came home this weekend from college for spring break so my family and I all decided to make his favorite food: Chipotle. His favorite meal to get is the chicken burrito bowl so we create all of the parts of it, including the grilled spiced chicken, the cilantro lime rice, and guacamole!

First I’ll tell you how I made the chicken:

img_9429

We used this Chicken Fajita seasoning and mixed in a teaspoon of chili powder for some extra spice.

img_9431

Then we whisked the spices with 1/4 cup olive oil to complete the marinade.

img_9433

Cut the chicken in cubes, place it in the marinade, cover it with plastic wrap, and place it in the refrigerator for 20-30 minutes.

img_9443

Once the chicken has fully marinated, place it on a grill pan at medium-high heat.

img_9444

Then, cover the chicken with another pan and cook it for 6-8 minutes. After that, remove the cover and flip the chicken over.

img_9450

Once you have flipped the chicken over, grill the chicken for another 6-8 minutes until it is fully cooked through and there are some grill marks on the chicken.

Next I made the guacamole:

img_9434

First I chopped up 3 cloves of garlic. To get off the skin, I smashed each clove with a thick blunted knife (as thick as each clove) and then peeled off the skin. After that, I finely chopped each one up.

img_9437

I mixed the chopped garlic with some chopped onions and chopped cilantro in a medium sized bowl, leaving room for the avocados and other ingredients.

img_9441

After that, I halved the avocados and squeezed out the insides into the bowl with the rest of the ingredients.

img_9442

Mash all the ingredients together using a fork to finish the guacamole!

Next I made the cilantro lime rice:

img_9439

In an InstantPot (you can use a pressure cooker too), add in 2 cups of plain jasmine rice, 2 cups of water, 2 tablespoons of salt, 2-3 teaspoons of chopped cilantro, and juice from 1/2 a lemon. Then cook the rice for 10-15 minutes until the rice soaks up all the water and the rice is fully cooked.

img_9451

Once the rice is cooked, add in some fresh cilantro and mix it all together!

img_9454

Along with the chicken, rice, and guacamole, take out some beans (we used black beans), olives, chopped lettuce, salsa, and sour cream (we didn’t have it so we used greek yogurt instead)! If you like any other veggies, like grilled bell peppers, take those out too!

Now that you have everything prepared, start putting your bowl together! I’ll take you through each step of constructing my bowl:

img_9456

First I added a thin layer of rice.

img_9457

Then I added a couple spoons of black beans.

img_9458

After that, I added some pieces of the chicken.

img_9460

On top of that, I added a couple spoons of spicy mayo (2 tablespoons sriracha mixed with 1/4 cup mayo) to add some extra flavor.

img_9463

Then I added lettuce, olives, and salsa.

img_9466

Finally, I put a dollop of guacamole and yogurt on it and then sprinkled some Mexican cheese all over. It was Chipotle heaven.

I hope you enjoy and get creative in making your own Chipotle burrito bowl!

Leave a Reply

