Valentine’s Day Brownies!

This past week for Valentine’s Day I made some chocolate/peanut butter frosted and espresso frosted brownies! Everyone deserves lots and lots of chocolate on Valentine’s Day, and this is the perfect chocolate dessert to treat your loved ones with! I made them festive by forming little rainbow sprinkle hearts atop each brownie!

To simplify making them, I used Ghirardelli brownie mix but added melted milk chocolate to make the brownies extra decadent and chocolatey!

img_9288

First, follow the directions and make the basic brownie batter.

img_9292

Then, melt about a 1 cup of milk chocolate chips (per 1 bag of mix –> I used two cups for two bags of mix) and mix it into the brownie batter. I love swirling them together because they look so pretty 🙂

img_9294

I baked mine at 350 degrees for 17-20 minutes or until the brownies are almost cooked through because I like them a little underdone and fudgy! If you like them well-done, cook the brownies for 25-30 minutes.

img_9298

While the brownies cook, make the different icings! To make the espresso icing, I made the same buttercream icing I used for the cinnamon rolls but instead of adding in plain milk, I added in coffee (I just made it from instant coffee powder but you can freshly brew your own coffee!).

img_9301

Here is the finished espresso icing! Set it aside while you make the other icing.

img_9302

To make the chocolate/peanut butter “icing,” you simply need to melt 1 cup of milk chocolate chips with 4-5 tablespoons of peanut butter! Make sure to melt them in increments of 30 seconds, remembering to mix in between each to prevent the chocolate from burning!

img_9303

Once melted, mix the chocolate and peanut butter together until glossy!

img_9304

Then spread the topping on one pan of brownies until smooth and even.

img_9306

Place a small heart cookie cutter on the brownies and sprinkle in some rainbow sprinkles to create a rainbow heart on each brownie!

img_9308

I was able to line 5 x 4 hearts to make 20 rainbow heart brownies!

img_9311

Repeat this process with the espresso icing! Then, place both pans in the fridge to cool for 10-15 minutes before cutting. It will be difficult to cut them if the icing is too liquidated because the sprinkles will mix into the icing!

img_9320

Once cooled, cut the brownies as shown above, with one heart per brownie!

img_9323

Enjoy and deliver to your loved ones! I served these to my mom for dessert on Valentine’s Day and then delivered a couple over to some of my best friends! I promise they will love you forever if you give them these 🙂

Leave a Reply

